Movies

Gender Lenses: A Joint Post on Movies

Hello Everyone,

I apologize for the delay in posting. I was busy with completing my undergraduate degree and applying to graduate school (amongst other things). I am going to post a link and the text of an article I wrote for our school paper. It is reminiscent of a couple old posts on this blog; but, I believe you may still find it enjoyable and informative.

For Jordan’s section of the Column, visit the link at http://www.thedustertoday.com/entertainment/story/article/gender-lenses-movie-buffs-or-not.html:

 

Adam’s View:

Having a watch list on IMDB is really hard for me. Currently, I have over 50 movies or television shows that I need to watch. One night after a trip to the movie theater, I came to the conclusion that I will never fully understand how much I love watching the previews for movies before the “feature presentation” starts. Sometimes, I get so caught up in the trailers that I can’t appreciate the beginning of the film. Most of the time, they are so brilliantly packaged together that they all end up on my watch list. If I see a trailer that I love, unquestionably, it goes on my watch list. Most of the time, I end up losing interest in them before I even give them a chance.

When watching the trailer for the upcoming interpretation of “The Great Gatsby,” I couldn’t help but get chills when the extremely powerful “No Church in the Wild” started to play while beautiful people in beautiful cars party on screen. The music is perfectly fitting for the fast-paced high life of the opulent and decadent. Anyone watching this trailer can’t help but be mesmerized by this enthralling picture of their desires. I mean, who doesn’t want to be wealthy and powerful?

Generations after Fitzgerald have been seduced by the opulence of the 1920s to this day. One of my favorite movies, “Midnight in Paris,” pays special attention to the romanticism of this luxurious life in the context of another city filled with iconic American expatriates of the time. Fitzgerald himself is a prominent character of the movie. However, many realized the moral dilemmas of their lifestyle, driving to their beautifully tragic downfalls. We accept that this lifestyle is enchanting, we desire for it, and we can choose to act on it. Movies give us the opportunity to not only be entertained, but also vicariously live through the larger than life characters on the screen.

I think the thing that enthralls me the most about the movies is this concept of the opulent and the decadent. Everything about them is absolutely grand. The money to produce them, box-office results, on-screen talent, music, popcorn, fashion … all play into a human desire and envy. The thing that can really make me love a movie is how they play off human desires.

If I were to be asked my favorite genre or type of movie, it would be incredibly hard to respond. In the past, I used to say drama right off the bat. I still don’t know why, but I have never been a big fan of comedy. It was not until recently that my opinion on comedy changed and I realized there was more to the genre than Jack Black and Zack Galifianakis. I mean, my favorite movie (“Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind”) is technically a comedy, even though my next favorite (“The Departed”) and the next dozen are action and/or dramas. But, if you think about it, all of them play into the human desire – whether it be love (drama or romantic comedy), money or war (action), love or honor (westerns), or whatever.

Finally, I’m not a fan of horror; you can ask some of our recent alumni. I don’t see anything opulent or decadent about it, apart from the amount of money going into gore and CGI. There was this one time that some friends and I went to see “The Strangers” in a nice dinner theater. I knew that there was about to be something that would make me jump, so I was preparing for it, when Matthew Hale decided it would be hilarious to turn at me and yell. I’m pretty sure I pulled an “Exorcist” with a complete 360-degree head turn-around, viciously screaming at the entire audience. After that, the mood was as dead as the characters. I will not forgive him to this day for ruining the movie for everyone else.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Feed

Goodreads

