Music

Christmas Music Out of Season

Ever since I was a child, my favorite thing about church was the songs. They were always fun to sing, and sounded beautiful. I never understood the theology behind them but over time, I started to understand the musicology and music theory behind them.

As I grew older, I started to have issues with the church and the hypocrisies within it, never realizing my own. You see, I always told people that I didn’t like classical music or anything like it. After innumerable music classes, performances, and projects I understood at last that all the church music I loved was considered classical or based upon classical music. The examples are endless.

One thing that I knew was that I hated Christmas music. Well, at least I would tell people that until I really thought about it. See, I was never really a fan of “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer” or others similar. If you were to ask my favorite Christmas music at age 7, it would be the same as now.

My absolute favorite Christmas song, to the point where I have chills thinking about it, is “O Holy Night”, followed immediately by “Do You Hear What I Hear?”

The lyrics paint a great image, really presenting itself to the face of our souls. The melodies are catchy, but not to the point where you are angry for singing them. The best part is that if I catch myself humming these tunes, my day actually brightens a little. Anytime these songs are covered, I have to play them over and over—while giving me a much deeper respect to the musician who can do it well.

The moral of the story is: It is these songs that make me really understand why people get so excited about Christmas in July. I love them to the point where I listen to them even when it isn’t the “Christmas season”.

“Truly He taught us to love one another/ His law is love and His gospel is peace.”

And it is this line that makes me really and truly see how beautiful the world is.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Feed

Goodreads

