Movies, Music

Another Earth and the Saw Lady

Having a Watchlist on IMDB is really hard for me. Currently, I have over 50 movies or television shows that I NEED to watch. If I see I trailer that I love, unquestionably, it goes on my watchlist. Most of the time, I end up losing interest in them before I even give them a chance.

One movie in particular has been needling at me for the past year.

When my friend and I went to Hastings to rent a movie, I had no intention of renting Another Earth. We browsed the store for over 30 minutes trying to find a movie. Some of the other movies on my watchlist were already rented, and when I became exasperated that there were no movies to rent, this beautiful movie caught my eye.

Within 5 minutes, I was hooked. The opening scene and the title credits set the mood for a very visual, thought provoking movie. But the thing that made me speechless by the time the movie was over was not the amazing performances, visuals, or dialogue– but the music.

As a music major, I am designed to hear music everywhere and in the world around me. I am so trained into analyzing and critiquing that sometimes the music gets away from me.

There was nothing that I can trash about this soundtrack.

One scene in particular really moved me. Its a scene where the lead male (a composer) takes the lead female to the university stage and pulls out a saw. What was he going to do? I knew that people played the musical saw, but it is still a rare phenomenon.

That piece of the soundtrack with the musical saw was so beautiful that if I had not already enjoyed the movie, I would have been in love at that point.

Eventually the movie ended, and my excitement faded, and I went online to post what I had thought on Twitter. The next morning, I signed on to find a DM from a profile titled “The Saw Lady“.

Most of the time, DMs are stupid and have no appeal to me. Everyone is trying to push something on to me, have me give feedback, follow on Facebook, and it gets annoying. I had something stir in me, and decided to check her profile out.

SHE PLAYED THE SAW FOR THE SOUNDTRACK. 

I spent over an hour watching, rewatching, and researching her. All I can tell you is that I am in love with the saw.

The moral of this story is: I was dumbfounded. Maybe all those people were actually good, and I had never given them a chance. Maybe not. But I will read every direct message if it leads me to these hidden jewels.

Visit Her Site and Support Her Music Here:
https://twitter.com/SawLady
http://www.youtube.com/user/StreetPerformersTV
http://www.sawlady.com/

Discussion

One thought on “Another Earth and the Saw Lady

  1. Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU for your very kind words, Adam! I am so glad that ‘Another Earth’ lead you to appreciate the musical saw. Your blog post totally made my day!

    Posted by Saw Lady | June 10, 2012, 10:03 pm

Leave a Reply

Twitter Feed

Goodreads

